BEYOND CINEMA @ Cannes 2018

In the context of PLUGS, GIFF is honored to present two of the most innovative Swiss projects in the field of virtual reality at NEXT Pavilion during the 71st Cannes Festival from 8 to 13 May.

Thanks to the support of Pro Helvetia – Swiss Arts Council, the 4th Beyond Cinema : The Swiss Digital Showcase will enable professionals in Cannes to bend space and time with the exciting project Elastic Time by Studio Imverse and to discover the Limbic Chair VR, a new way of interacting with the virtual world developed by Limbic Life.
Once again, for the third consecutive year and thanks to the support of Engagement Migros, a match-making module will be organized in parallel to the Beyond Cinema program that will provide Swiss digital creators in Cannes with the opportunity to meet potential investors for their projects.


ELASTIC TIME


Elastic Time is a mixed reality interactive documentary about space-time narrated by astronomer Tony Stark. A real-time hologram of your body is integrated into the observatory room and using the controllers, you bend space and time to your will, creating black-holes, worm-holes and time portals. Written and directed by artist Mark Boulos, Elastic Time has been created using state-of-the-art technology developed at Imverse. The volumetric 3D environment has been reconstructed from a single 2D 360° picture usingImverse LiveMaker and the real-time volumetric 3D capture of the user’s body and the volumetric recording of the actor is powered by Imverse proprietary voxel-based graphics engine.
Written & directed by Mark Boulos
Created & produced by Imverse: Robin Mange and Javier Bello Ruiz


LIMBIC CHAIR VR


The Limbic Chair VR is a safe and compact, hands-free navigation device for VR. The first of its kind to combine neuroscience-based research and ergonomic design, it connects behaviours, thoughts and emotions through touch and movement. Because moving your legs and moving your hands rely on two separate neurological systems, users are able to navigate intuitively with their legs, freeing their hands and head to view or play as usual. The Limbic Chair VR is designed to entice you to move, while sensors on the chair then transmit these movements to electronic devices to navigate through VR.
By Limbic Life : Patrik Künzler and Mark van Raai


PROGRAM HIGHLIGHTS

Beyond Cinema: Swiss Digital Showcase / NEXT Pavilion
Exhibition : from 8 to 13 May 2018 / from 9:00 to 18:00
Showcase : Friday, 11 May 2018 / from 14:00 to 15:00
Match-making : from 8 to 12 May 2018 / by appointment (contact: mm@giff.ch)
Contact:
Camille Kaiser, Digital and Professional Programs Coordinator
Marie Mayoly, Professional Match-making Module Coordinator

BEYOND CINEMA @ Cannes 2018

Dans le cadre du programme PLUGS, le GIFF a le plaisir de présenter deux des projets suisses les plus novateurs du moment dans le domaine de la réalité virtuelle à l’occasion du 71ème Festival de Cannes, du 8 au 13 mai, au Pavillon NEXT du Marché du film.

Dans le cadre du programme PLUGS, le GIFF a le plaisir de présenter deux des projets suisses les plus novateurs du moment dans le domaine de la réalité virtuelle à l’occasion du 71ème Festival de Cannes, du 8 au 13 mai, au Pavillon NEXT du Marché du film.

Grâce au soutien de la Fondation suisse pour la culture Pro Helvetia, la quatrième édition de Beyond Cinema The Swiss Digital Showcase permettra aux professionnels présents sur la Croisette de modifier l’espace et le temps avec le projet audacieux Elastic Time du studio Imverse, mais aussi de découvrir la Limbic Chair VR, une nouvelle façon d’interagir avec le monde virtuel développée par Limbic Life.

 

Cette année encore et pour la troisième année consécutive, grâce au soutien d’Engagement Migros, un module de match-making sera organisé en parallèle au programme Beyond Cinema afin d’offrir la possibilité aux créateurs numériques suisses présents à Cannes de rencontrer des investisseurs potentiels pour leurs projets.

 

ELASTIC TIME

Elastic Time est un documentaire interactif en réalité mixte sur l’espace-temps raconté par l’astronome Tony Stark. Un hologramme en temps réel de votre corps est intégré dans un observatoire. En utilisant les commandes à disposition, vous pouvez modifier l’espace-temps à votre guise, pour créer des trous noirs, des trous de vers et des portails temporels. Écrit et réalisé par l’artiste Mark Boulos, Elastic Time a été créé grâce à la technologie de pointe d’Imverse SA. L’environnement volumétrique en trois dimensions est reconstruit à partir d’une image 2D à 360 degrés grâce à Imverse LiveMaker et à la capture 3D volumétrique en temps réel du corps de l’utilisateur, alors que la capture volumétrique de l’acteur fonctionne grâce au moteur graphique voxel breveté d’Imverse.

 

Écrit et réalisé par Mark Boulos

Créé et produit par IMVERSE : Robin Mange et Javier Bello Ruiz

www.imverse.ch

 

 

LIMBIC CHAIR VR

La Limbic Chair VR est un appareil de navigation mains-libres, sûr et compact conçu pour la réalité virtuelle. Premier en son genre à allier recherches neuroscientifiques et design ergonomique, l’appareil parvient à associer comportement, pensée et émotion à travers le toucher et le mouvement. Étant donné que les mouvements des mains et des pieds dépendent de deux systèmes neurologiques indépendants, les utilisateurs peuvent donc naviguer de façon intuitive en utilisant leurs jambes, ce qui leur permet d’avoir les mains et la tête libres pour voir et jouer comme dans un jeu ordinaire. La Limbic Chair VR est conçue pour inciter l’utilisateur à faire des mouvements que des capteurs sur la chaise transmettent ensuite à des appareils électroniques pour naviguer dans un monde de réalité virtuelle.

 

Créé par Limbic Life : Patrik Künzler et Mark van Raai

www.limbic-life.com

 

 

LE PROGRAMME EN BREF

 

Beyond Cinema : The Swiss Digital Showcase / au pavillon NEXT

 

Exposition : du 8 au 13 Mai 2018 / de 9h à 18h

Showcase : Vendredi, 11 Mai 2018 / de 14h à 15h

Match-making : Du 8 au 12 mai 2018 / sur rendez-vous (contact : mm@giff.ch)