THE FESTIVAL CONNECTS WITH THE HEK

On 8 February 2017, as part of its PLUGS programme, Geneva International Film Festival Tous Ecrans will connect with Basel’s HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste) to present a selection of short works that were on show during the last Festival. This selection of short nfilms, video clips,web series and virtual reality works curated by the Festival Tous Ecrans will enable the public to discover a summary of its programme that combines cinema, music and digital works.

A Man Returned

SHORT

A MAN RETURNED, Mahdi Fleifel

Liken many Palestinian refugees, Reda is stuck in the Ain El-Helweh camp. Despite his addiction to heroin, a consequence of three years spent in nAthens, he decides to marry his childhood sweetheart. An epic ndocumentary which won the Golden Bear in Berlin and the Reflet d’Or for Best International Short at the Festival Tous Ecrans in 2016.

Panda

MUSIC VIDEOS

TWUN (Yvein Monq), Kinopravda

CHANGE IS EVERYTHING (Son Lux), Nathan Johnson

DRIFTED (The Shoes), Dent De Cuir Dent De Cuir

CITY LIGHTS (The White Stripes), Michel Gondry

PANDA (Desiigner), Paul Geusebroek. Reflet d’Or for Best Music Video – Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

Le bateau de l’enfer

WEB SERIES

SIMULATED DEAD PEOPLE (Ep. 2), Adam Butcher

The dead come back to life, but not like zombies: Thanks to the Simulated Dead People programme, our dearly departed come back in holographic form. The result is perfect. They are just as tiresome as they were when they were alive!

LE BATEAU DE L’ENFER (Ep. 1), Julien Nodolwsky, JoachimBarbier

There are 3,000 of them. Three thousand metalheads who embark every year on a satanic Caribbean cruise. When fuzzy guitars and guttural singing voices mix with screaming seagulls, there is no doubt: Welcome to the boat of hell! Reflet d’Or for Best International Web Series Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

BARBER SHOW (Ep. 1), Hugues Lawson-Body

In an African hair salon in Château d’Eau in Paris, clients discuss life. From palavers to mockeries, language is the essence. A camera, a hair salon, a few characters, a thousand worlds: the web series in its simple stand magical form.

LA DUMP (Ep. 1), Maude Morissette

Bellen and Barbe live underground, in the gutters to be precise. Belle and Barbe are puppets. They are also alcoholic, dysfunctionaland vulgar. Hailing from Quebec, La Dump is the most far-fetched and irreverent web series of the moment.

 

Transition

VR Films

SENS VR, Charles Ayats, Armand Lemarchand,Marc-Antoine Mathieu

Sens VR is a poetic journey into the world of graphic novel author Marc-Antoinen Mathieu. A combination of video game and classic comicbook, animation film and waking dream, his work combines genres and stands at the crossroads of the past and the future.

THE FUTURE OF MUSIC, Greg Barth

Enter the world of Carré Bleu, an artist and composer who is shaping the music of tomorrow by travelling through space and time. A VR pop mockumentary, hectic and surrealist, the result of a crazy collaboration between Greg Barth and Polar Youth.

DRAWING ROOM, Sara Kolster, Jan Rothuizen, Harm van deVen, Juul Spee

Artist and illustrator Jan Rothuizen is invited by a big Dutch department store. He is offered a room at the top of the building, overlooking the city. From this real-life situation, Rothuizen creates a unique nautobiographical VR experience.

TRANSITION, Joost Jordens, Mike von Rotz

When two students from the Utrecht School of the Arts meet ambient musicians Kettel & Secede, the result is a meditative journey into a world that evokes the metaphysical inclinations of Jodorowsky and Moebius. Mesmerising. Reflet d’Or for Best VR Film – Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

Informations:

Wed. 08.02.2017 – from 8 pm to 10 pm

HeK (Haus derelektronischen Künste), Basel

Free admission

Geneva International Film Festival Tous Ecrans’ digital programmes are supported by the Yves and Inez Oltramare Foundation.

LE FESTIVAL SE CONNECTE À LA HEK

Le 8 février prochain, dans le cadre de son programme PLUGS, le Geneva International Film Festival Tous Ecrans se connecte avec la HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste) de Bâle pour y présenter une sélection d’œuvres en format court présentées lors de sa dernière édition. Avec un choix de court métrages, de vidéoclips, de séries web net d’œuvres en réalité virtuelle, cette curation du Festival Tous Ecrans permettra au public de découvrir un condensé de sa programmation alliant cinéma, musique et digital.


A Man Returned

COURT MÉTRAGE

A MAN RETURNED, Mahdi Fleifel

Comme beaucoup de réfugiés palestiniens, Reda est coincé au camp d’Ain El-Helweh. Malgré son addiction à l’héroïne, stigmate de trois ans passés à Athènes, il décide de se marier avec son amour de jeunesse. Une épopée documentaire qui a remporté, en plus de l’Ours d’argent à Berlin, le Reflet d’Or du meilleur du court métrage international au Festival Tous Ecrans en 2016.


Panda

VIDÉOCLIPS

TWUN (Yvein Monq), Kinopravda
CHANGE IS EVERYTHING (Son Lux), Nathan Johnson
DRIFTED (The Shoes), Dent De Cuir Dent De Cuir
CITY LIGHTS (The White Stripes), Michel Gondry
PANDA (Desiigner), Paul Geusebroek. Reflet d’Or du meilleur vidéoclip international – Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

Le Bateau de l’enfer
SÉRIES WEB
SIMULATED DEAD PEOPLE (Ep. 2), Adam Butcher

Les morts qui reviennent à la vie. Pas comme des zombies : grâce au programme Simulated Dead People, c’est sous forme holographique que nos chers disparus viennent nous rendre visite. Le rendu est parfait. La preuve, ils sont aussi pénibles que lorsqu’ils étaient en vie.

LE BATEAU DE L’ENFER (Ep. 1), Julien Nodolwsky, Joachim Barbier

Ils sont 3000. 3000 métaleux dans un paquebot. Ils embarquent chaque année pour une croisière satanique dans les Caraïbes. Quand les guitares enragées et les vocalises gutturales se mêlent au cri des goélands, pas de doute, on est bien sur le bateau de l’enfer. Reflet d’Or de la meilleure série web internationale – Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

BARBER SHOW (Ep. 1), Hugues Lawson-Body

Dans l’un des salons de coiffures africains de Château d’Eau, à Paris, les clients dissertent sur la vie. De palabres en moqueries, ici le langage est roi. Une caméra, un lieu, quelques personnages, mille univers: la série web dans ce qu’elle a de plus simple et de plus magique.

LA DUMP
(Ep. 1), Maude Morissette

Belle et Barbe vivent sous terre. Dans les égouts, plus précisément. nBelle et Barbe sont des marionnettes. Ils sont aussi alcoolos, dysfonctionnels, vulgaires. Venue du Québec, La Dump est la plus improbable et irrévérencieuse série web du moment. Cradingue mais délicieux.

Transition
ŒUVRES EN RÉALITÉ VIRTUELLE

SENS VR, Charles Ayats, Armand Lemarchand, Marc-Antoine Mathieu

Sens VR est une promenade poétique dans l’univers du créateur de bande-dessinée Marc-Antoine Mathieu. Entre jeu vidéo et BD classique, entre film d’animation et rêve éveillé, une œuvre aux confins entre les genres et à la frontière entre les arts d’hier et de demain.

THE FUTURE OF MUSIC, Greg Barth

Entrez dans l’univers de Carré Bleu, artiste et compositeur qui parvient à créer la musique de demain en voyageant à travers l’espace et le temps. Un mockumentaire VR pop, surréaliste et frénétique, fruit de la collaboration délirante entre Greg Barth et Polar Youth.

DRAWING ROOM, Sara Kolster, Jan Rothuizen, Harm van de Ven, Juul Spee

L’artiste et illustrateur Jan Rothuizen est invité en résidence par un grand magasin hollandais. Il dispose d’une chambre dans le toit du bâtiment, avec vue sur la ville. A partir de cette situation vécue, Rothuizen crée une expérience VR autobiographique sans pareille.

TRANSITION, Joost Jordens, Mike von Rotz

Quand deux étudiants de l’Université d’Arts d’Utrecht rencontrent les musiciens atmosphériques de Kettel & Secede, cela donne une virée contemplative dans un monde évoquant les univers métaphysiques de Jodorowsky et Moebius. Hypnotique. Reflet d’Or de la meilleure œuvre en réalité virtuelle – Festival Tous Ecrans, 2016.

Informations pratiques:

Mer. 08.02.2017 de 20:00-22:00
HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste), Bâle
Entrée libre

Les programmes numériques du Festival Tous Écrans sont soutenus par la Fondation Yves et Inez Oltramare.