VIRTUAL REALITY @ LAROTONDA 2018

An exclusive programme of virtual reality works curated by the Geneva International Film Festival // GIFF.

For the third year, the GIFF presents, as part of its PLUGS program, a Virtual Reality space inside laRotonda, the Village of the Locarno Festival. Every evening between July 27th and August 12th from 6 to 10 PM, a selection of virtual reality films from all over the world will be presented. The public will be able to experiment being a guinea pig for a clinical trial led by an artificial intelligence, dive into a wacky 360° music video or get immersed into Gomorrah, the hit TV series, and literally follow the protagonists as they wander through the streets of Naples.

 

ALTERATION

Jérôme Blanquet / 2017 / France

Alexandro is the guinea pig for an experiment led by artificial intelligence which insinuates itself even deeper into his subconscious. Inspired by Philip K. Dick, Alteration is one of the most well-crafted VR narratives of the moment won the Reflet d’Or for the Best VR Film at the 2017 GIFF.

 

 

BLOODLESS

Gina Kim / 2017 / Republic of Korea, USA
Since the 1950s, American soldiers have been stationed in South Korea. This powerfully realistic and raw VR experience looks back at the violence towards sex workers living near their camps, perpetrated with impunity by those soldiers. Immersion into the banality of evil.

 

CHAPITA

Eran Amir / 2016 / United Kingdom
Take a dancer. Give her a warehouse for a playfield and a few weird tools to play with. Then virtually multiply that person to the point of saturating the viewer’s field of vision. What do you get? Chapita, a technically perfect, poetic VR video clip.

 

DREAMS OF ’O’

Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël / 2016 / Canada

Mermaids, a water ballet, a free dive into a marine world worthy of Jules Verne’s fairyland: when the Cirque du Soleil crosses paths with Félix & Paul, the result can only be sublime.

 

 

GOMORRAH VR – We own the streets

Enrico Rosati / 2017 / Italy

Gomorrah VR – We own the streets acts as a bridge between seasons 2 and 3 of the TV show of the same name. Enrico Rosati immerse the spectator together with the main protagonists into the heart of the Scampia, a popular neighborhood of Naples which has become the nerve center of the camorra.

 

 

HEAL TOMORROW

Romain Chassaing / 2016 / France

Romain Chassaing and the Naive New Beaters – with the complicity of Izia – once again push the limits of music videos with this deliciously irreverent 360-degree clip. Be prepared to experience the splendor and disintegration of a rock band in less than five minutes.

 

 

NOTES TO MY FATHER

Jayisha Patel / 2017 / India, USA, UK

Set in the lush rural landscapes of Southern India, Notes To My Father is a story of love, grief and reconciliation, between father and daughter. Flooded by past memories of an adolescence spent in an Indian brothel, Ramadevi pens a letter to her father, who unintentionally played a role in his daughter’s trauma.

 

 

PROXIMA

Mathieu Pradat / 2017 / France

A man whose soul would leave his body and disappear into the darkness; a terrible threat lurking; a sole beacon of light in the dark night that now surrounds us; we must follow it. A Baudelaire-like VR work, in the form of a space-time loop.

 

 

THE PROTECTORS – Walk in the ranger’s shoes

Imraan Ismail, Kathryn Bigelow / USA / 2017

For National Geographic, moviemaker Kathryn Bigelow (Strange Days, The Hurt Locker, Detroit) takes us alongside rangers in the Garamba Park in the DRC who protect elephants against heavily-armed poachers. A quintessential VR documentary.

VIRTUAL REALITY @ LAROTONDA 2018

Un programme exclusif d’oeuvres en réalité virtuelle séléctionnées par le Festival International du Film de Genève // GIFF.

Pour la troisième année consécutive, le GIFF à le plaisir de présenter, dans le cadre de son programme PLUGS, un espace dédié à la réalité virtuelle à l’intérieur de laRotonda, le Village du Festival de Locarno. Tous les soirs entre le 27 juillet et le 12 août, de 18h à 22h, une sélection de films en réalité virtuelle internationale sera présentée. Le public pourra devenir le cobaye d’un essai clinique mené par une intelligence artificielle, s’immerger dans un vidéoclip déjantée à 360° ou suivre littéralement les protagonistes de la série Gomorrah dans les rues de Naples.

 

ALTERATION

Jérôme Blanquet / 2017 / France

Alexandro est le cobaye d’une expérience menée par une intelligence artificielle. Elle s’immisce dans son subconscient, toujours plus profondément. Reflet d’or de la meilleure œuvres immersives au GIFF 2017, Alteration est l’une des narrations VR les plus maîtrisées du moment.

 

 

BLOODLESS

Gina Kim / 2017 / République de Corée, États-Unis

Depuis les années 1950, des soldats américains stationnent en Corée du Sud. Une expérience VR au réalisme brut et tenace, qui retrace les derniers moments de la vie d’une travailleuse du sexe brutalement assassinée, et revient sur les violences perpétrées impunément par ces soldats.

 

 

CHAPITA

Eran Amir / 2016 / Royaume-Uni

Prenez une danseuse. Donnez-lui un entrepôt comme terrain de jeux et quelques ustensiles étranges pour s’amuser. Puis multipliez virtuellement cette personne, jusqu’à saturer le champ de vision du spectateur. Qu’obtenez-vous ? Chapita, un vidéoclip VR poétique à la technique parfaite.

 

 

DREAMS OF ’O’

Félix Lajeunesse, Paul Raphaël / 2016 / Canada

Des sirènes, un bal aquatique, une plongée en apnée dans un univers marin digne d’une féérie de Jules Verne : quand le Cirque du Soleil rencontre Félix & Paul Studios, on touche forcément au sublime.

 

 

GOMORRAH VR – We own the streets

Enrico Rosati / 2017 / Italie

Gomorrah VR – We own the streets est un pont entre les saisons 2 et 3 de la série du même nom. Enrico Rosati plonge le spectateur avec les principaux protagonistes au cœur de la Scampia, un quartier populaire de Naples qui est devenu le centre névralgique de la camorra.

 

 

HEAL TOMORROW

Romain Chassaing / 2016 / France

Romain Chassaing et les Naive New Beaters – avec la complicité ici d’Izia – font à nouveau exploser l’univers du clip, avec cette vidéo à 360° délicieusement irrévérencieuse. Préparez-vous à vivre la splendeur et décadence d’un groupe de rock en moins de cinq minutes chrono.

 

 

NOTES TO MY FATHER

Jayisha Patel / 2017 / Inde, États-Unis, Royaume-Uni

Dans les paysages ruraux luxuriants du sud de l’Inde, Notes To My Father est une histoire d’amour, de deuil et de réconciliation, entre un père et sa fille. Inondé par les souvenirs d’une adolescence passée dans un bordel indien, Ramadevi écrit une lettre à son père, qui a involontairement joué un rôle dans le traumatisme de sa fille.

 

 

PROXIMA

Mathieu Pradat / 2017 / France

Un homme dont l’âme sortirait de son corps et s’en irait dans les ténèbres. Une terrible menace qui rôde. Une lumière – seul phare dans la nuit épaisse qui nous entoure désormais. La suivre, absolument. Une œuvre VR baudelairienne, en forme de boucle spatio-temporelle.

 

 

THE PROTECTORS – Walk in the ranger’s shoes

Imraan Ismail, Kathryn Bigelow / États-unis / 2017

Pour National Geographic, la cinéaste Kathryn Bigelow (Strange Days, The Hurt Locker, Detroit) nous plonge aux côtés des rangers du parc de Garamba en RDC, qui protègent les éléphants contre des braconniers surarmés. Une quintessence de doc VR.