THE VIRTUAL PSYCHO PAGODA @NIFFF 2018

On the occasion of its next PLUGS programme, the Geneva International Film Festival // GIFF is connecting for the second time to the Neuchâtel International Fantastic Film Festival (6 - 14 July 2018) // NIFFF for The Virtual Psycho Pagoda programme. In collaboration with the NIFFF, this original programme consists of 5 works in virtual reality (VR) and one video, all exploring Asian cinema.

 

AN OBITUARY

Jean Yoon, Republic of Korea, 2017

SWISS PREMIERE

A young man travels alone deep into the countryside to pay his respects after hearing of a friend’s untimely death. Upon his arrival, he finds himself to be the sole mourner at the funeral. Alone in the countryside, save for the elderly mother of his deceased friend, he begins to wonder why they seem to be the only two people left in the village.

 

 

BLOODLESS

Gina Kim, Republic of Korea, USA, 2017

Since the 1950s, American soldiers have stationed at Dongducheon Camptown in South Korea. A powerfully realistic and raw VR experience that retraces the last living moments of a brutally murdered sex worker, and looks back at the violence perpetrated with impunity by these soldiers.

 

 

HELP ME

You Tae-Kyung, Republic of Korea, 2018

WORLD PREMIERE

On rainy nights, a woman living alone hears the noises of someone knocking at her door, asking for help. Her neighbors tell her about the woman who used to live in her apartment. One night, she finally decides to open the door…

 

 

HYPER-REALITY

Keiichi Matsuda, Colombia, 2016

SWISS PREMIERE

In a city saturated with immersive media that has become an integral part of our lives, just like the public spaces and buildings that surround us, physical and virtual realities have merged. A provocative and kaleidoscopic vision of the future, where play merges with life, and technologies define our relationship to the world.

 

 


Yu Hong, ’She’s Already Gone’, Virtual Reality artwork, 2017. Courtesy of Yu Hong and Khora Contemporary.

SHE’S ALREADY GONE

Yu Hong, China, Denmark, 2017

SWISS PREMIERE

Directed by Chinese artist Yu Hong, this VR experience places the viewer in the middle of four scenes, that travel through the life of a female character from her birth to her old age. The narrative follows differing timelines: as the life and aging of the protagonist moves forward, History goes backwards.

 

 

YOUR SPIRITUAL TEMPLE SUCKS

John Hsu, Taïwan, 2018

 

Mr. Chang arrives to his “Spiritual Temple”, a place symbolic of one’s destiny in the afterworld. To solve his marital crisis and financial problems, he summons his guardian – The Thunder God. They both attempt to tidy his life, which turns out to be a big mistake… with hilarious consequences.

THE VIRTUAL PSYCHO PAGODA @NIFFF 2018

Dans le cadre de son programme PLUGS, le Geneva International Film Festival // GIFF se connecte pour la seconde fois au Festival International du Film Fantastique de Neuchâtel (6 – 14 juillet 2018) pour The Virtual Psycho Pagoda. Une programmation inédite réalisée en collaboration avec le NIFFF, composée de 5 œuvres en réalité virtuelle et une œuvre vidéo explorant le cinéma de genre asiatique.

THE VIRTUAL PSYCHO PAGODA / Temple du bas / du 6 au 14 juillet de 16:00 à 20:00

 

AN OBITUARY

Jean Yoon, Republic of Korea, 2017

PREMIÈRE SUISSE

Un jeune homme part à la campagne pour rendre hommage à un ami mort prématurément. À son arrivée, il se retrouve seul aux funérailles, à l’exception de la mère de son ami, et se demande peu à peu pourquoi ils semblent être les deux seules personnes restantes dans le village…

 

BLOODLESS

Gina Kim, Republic of Korea, USA, 2017
Depuis les années 1950, des soldats américains stationnent au Dongducheon Camptown en Corée du Sud. Une expérience VR au réalisme brut et tenace qui retrace les derniers moments de la vie d’une travailleuse du sexe brutalement assassinée, et revient sur les violences perpétrées impunément par ces soldats.

 

HELP ME

You Tae-Kyung, Republic of Korea, 2018

PREMIÈRE MONDIALE

Les nuits pluvieuses, une femme vivant seule entend quelqu’un qui frappe à sa porte en demandant de l’aide. Ses voisins lui racontent l’histoire de la femme qui vivait auparavant dans son appartement. Une nuit, elle décide enfin d’ouvrir la porte…

 

 

HYPER-REALITY

Keiichi Matsuda, Colombia, 2016

PREMIÈRE SUISSE

Dans une ville saturée de médias immersifs devenus partie intégrante de nos vies, au même titre que les espaces et bâtiments qui nous entourent, les réalités physiques et virtuelles ont fusionné. Une vision provocante et kaléidoscopique de l’avenir, où le jeu se confond avec la vie et les technologies définissent notre rapport au monde.

 

Yu Hong, ’She’s Already Gone’, Virtual Reality artwork, 2017. Courtesy of Yu Hong and Khora Contemporary.

 

SHE’S ALREADY GONE

Yu Hong, China, Denmark, 2017

PREMIÈRE SUISSE

Réalisé par l’artiste chinoise Yu Hong, cette expérience VR fait du spectateur le témoin de quatre scènes de la vie d’une femme, de sa naissance à sa vieillesse. Le récit suit des temporalités différentes et fragmentées ; au fur et à mesure que la vie et le vieillissement de la protagoniste avancent, l’Histoire recule.

 

YOUR SPIRITUAL TEMPLE SUCKS

John Hsu, Taïwan, 2018

M. Chang arrive dans son « temple spirituel », un lieu qui symbolise son destin dans l’au-delà. Pour résoudre sa crise conjugale et ses problèmes financiers, il fait appel à son gardien – le Dieu Tonnerre – pour transformer son temple de fond en comble. Ce qui s’avérera être une grosse erreur… avec des conséquences hilarantes.