giff Unlimited @locarno – GIFF 2022

giff Unlimited @locarno

THE GENEVA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL (GIFF) & THE LOCARNO FILM FESTIVAL COPRESENT A free double program consisting of six outstanding immersive works 

At Locarno75, the old projection booth on the Piazza Grande becomes once again the theatre for an experience on the edge of film and technology.

Together with the Locarno Film Festival, August from 3 to 13, a free double program of six exceptional immersive works with day (10:00am to 02:00pm) and  night (05:00pm to 00:00am) sessions.

The Locarno75 VR joint program also includes a conversation around the future of cinema, its languages and its reception between director François Vautier and professor Kevin B. Lee (Locarno Film Festival and Università della Svizzera italiana – USI) at the BaseCamp Pop-Up, at the Istituto Sant’Eugenio in Locarno, on Tuesday, August 9 at 5:30 pm.

DAYTIME PROGRAM

schedule : 10:00am – 02:00pm
sessions duration : 40 minutes
capacity : 8 people

I SAW THE FUTURE
François Vautier / France / 2017 / 6 min / Experimental, Animation, VR / ov. en, fr

An experimental deciphering in VR of Arthur C. Clarke’s visionary speech on his vision of the future, built in an artificial field inspired by electrostatic displacement and sound waves. This film allows viewers to immerse themselves in a 3D space that echoes the futuristic predictions of a visionary humanist scientist.

GIFF 2022

ODYSSEY 1.4.9 
François Vautier / France / 2019 / 8 min / Docu-fiction, VR / No dialogue


A total work imagined by Stanley Kubrick and Arthur C. Clarke, 2001: Space Odyssey is the object of a particular cult. Here it becomes the vehicle of an immersive and interstellar journey to the heart of cinema, its photograms, its night and lights. Dizzying!

GIFF 2022

RECODING ENTROPIA
François Vautier / France / 2021 / 8 min / Fiction, VR / No dialogue


Last opus of the VR anthology of François Vautier on the human becoming, this story tells the wandering of an imposing geometry, in the heart of the nothingness, in the horizon of an infinite space and an unfathomable time. An immense tetrahedron that will soon break up to scatter and deliver a mysterious message through its change of form.

GIFF 2022

OVERNIGHT PROGRAM

schedule : 05:00pm – 00:00am
sessions duration : 50 minutes
capacity : 8 people

18 years and older

IN THE MIST
Chou Tung-yen / Taiwan / 2020 / 15 min / Experimental, VR, Erotic / No dialogue

In a dimly lit room filled with mist, time seems to stand still as a group of men explore their sexuality. Between dream and awakening, the film plunges into an unexpected experience and takes a poetic look at desire.

GIFF 2022

©Kris Kang


MUTATIS 
Mali Arun / France / 2020 / 12 min / Thriller, VR / No dialogue

Crime scene. Individuals in protective suits in a botanical garden are looking for inanimate, naked bodies. Luxuriance of the plants, coldness of the neon lights, paleness of the flesh. Then the ritual begins. This strange thriller composed of real shots opens up a space of real virtual cinema.

GIFF 2022

SATURNISM
Mihai Grecu / France / 2020 / 4 min / Fiction, VR / No dialogue

Painted directly on the walls of his house, Saturn Devouring His Son by Francisco Goya refers to Greek mythology, when King Cronos devoured each of his children to counter the prediction that he would be overthrown by one of his sons. Saturnism is an immersion on a human scale in one of the darkest and most haunting paintings in the history of art, where the fear of losing power drives one to madness. 

GIFF 2022

Désolé

Ce site internet ne fonctionne pas avec Internet Explorer,
Merci d'utiliser edge, firefox or Chrome.


Sorry

This website doesn't work on Internet Explorer,
please use edge, firefox or Chrome.

giff Unlimited @locarno – GIFF 2022

giff Unlimited @locarno

LE GENEVA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL (GIFF) & LE LOCARNO FILM FESTIVAL CO-PRÉSENTENT UN DOUBLE PROGRAMME GRATUIT COMPOSÉ DE SIX ŒUVRES IMMERSIVES EXCEPTIONNELLES

Pour le 75e Locarno, l’ancienne cabine de projection de la Piazza Grande redevient le théâtre d’une expérience à la pointe du cinéma et de la technologie.

En collaboration avec le Locarno Film Festival, du 3 au 13 août, le GIFF propose un double programme gratuit de six œuvres immersives exceptionnelles avec des séances de jour (10h00 à 14h00) et de nuit (17h00 à 00h00).

Le programme commun de Locarno75 VR comprend également une conversation autour de l’avenir du cinéma, de ses langages et de sa réception entre le réalisateur François Vautier et le professeur Kevin B. Lee (Festival du film de Locarno et Università della Svizzera italiana – USI) au BaseCamp Pop-Up, à l’Istituto Sant’Eugenio de Locarno, le mardi 9 août à 17h30.

programme jour

horaire : 10:00 – 14:00
durée de la session : 40 minutes
capacité : 8 personnes

I SAW THE FUTURE
François Vautier / France / 2017 / 6 min / Experimental, Animation, VR / ov. en, fr

Un décryptage expérimental en VR du discours visionnaire d’Arthur C. Clarke sur sa vision du futur, construit dans un champ artificiel inspiré du déplacement électrostatique et des ondes sonores. Ce film permet aux spectateur·rice·s de s’immerger dans un espace en 3D faisant écho aux prédictions futuristes d’un savant humaniste visionnaire.

GIFF 2022

ODYSSEY 1.4.9 
François Vautier / France / 2019 / 8 min / Docu-fiction, VR / No dialogue


Œuvre totale imaginée par Stanley Kubrick et Arthur C. Clarke, 2001, l’Odyssée de l’espace fait l’objet d’un culte particulier. Ici, il devient le véhicule d’un voyage immersif et interstellaire au cœur du cinéma, de ses photogrammes, de sa nuit et ses lumières. Vertigineux.

GIFF 2022

RECODING ENTROPIA
François Vautier / France / 2021 / 8 min / Fiction, VR / No dialogue


Dernier opus de l’anthologie VR de François Vautier sur le devenir humain, ce récit raconte l’errance d’une imposante géométrie, au cœur du néant, à l’horizon d’un espace infini et d’un temps insondable. Un tétraèdre immense qui bientôt va se disloquer pour s’éparpiller et délivrer par son changement de forme un mystérieux message.

GIFF 2022

programme soir

horaire : 17:00 – 00:00
durée de la session : 50 minutes
capacité : 8 personnes

! 18 ans et plus !

IN THE MIST
Chou Tung-yen / Taiwan / 2020 / 15 min / Experimental, VR, Erotic / No dialogue

Dans une pièce tamisée remplie de brume, le temps semble suspendu et un groupe d’hommes s’abandonnent à l’exploration de leur sexualité. Entre rêve et éveil, le film plonge au cœur d’une expérience inattendue et pose un regard poétique sur le désir.

GIFF 2022

©KRIS KANG


MUTATIS 
Mali Arun / France / 2020 / 12 min / Thriller, VR / No dialogue

Scène de crime. Des individus en combinaison de protection dans un jardin botanique. À la recherche de corps inanimés, nus. Luxuriance des plantes, froideur des néons, pâleur des chairs. Puis le rituel commence. Prises de vues réelles pour ce thriller étrange qui ouvre un espace de vrai cinéma virtuel.

GIFF 2022

SATURNISM
Mihai Grecu / France / 2020 / 4 min / Fiction, VR / No dialogue

Peinte directement sur les murs de sa maison, l’œuvre Saturne dévorant son enfant de Francisco Goya fait référence à la mythologie grecque, quand le roi Cronos dévore chacun de ses enfants pour contrer la prédiction selon laquelle il serait détrôné par l’un de ses fils. Saturnism est une immersion à l’échelle humaine dans l’une des peintures les plus sombres et obsédantes de l’histoire de l’art, où la peur de perdre le pouvoir pousse à la folie. 

GIFF 2022

Désolé

Ce site internet ne fonctionne pas avec Internet Explorer,
Merci d'utiliser edge, firefox or Chrome.


Sorry

This website doesn't work on Internet Explorer,
please use edge, firefox or Chrome.